Physics at Virginia

Congratulations to this year's Physics Department Award Recipients!

Friday, May 15 2020

Rajveer Nehra is the recipient of the 2020 Outstanding Graduate Research Award in Physics. Raj will soon complete his dissertation entitled “Non-Gaussian States and Measurements in Quantum Information Science” under the supervision of Professor Olivier Pfister.  

Drew Wilkers and Andrew Jiao are co-recipients of the 2020 Outstanding Undergraduate Physics Major Award. The Outstanding Undergraduate Physics Major Award is presented each year to the graduating physics major or majors with the best overall academic record in physics throughout their study at the University.  The winner will normally have completed a sequence of physics courses at, or beyond, that required for the Distinguished Majors Program.

Ephraiem Sarabamoun is the recipient of the Stephen Thornton Award in Physics Undergraduate Research. This annual award recognizes the most outstanding research project completed by an undergraduate physics major.  Ephraiem received this award for his published research entitled, “Solitons in the Einstein universe,” which was performed under the guidance of Professor Eugene Kolomeisky.

Tags: Drew Wilkers Ephraiem  Sarabamoun